Random Inspirational Quote Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/ Tue, 27 Jun 2017 19:51:48 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Sun, Jun 25, 2017 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-25-2017.html <p><strong>Long Long Run - 30.2 miles - </strong>4:42:54 (4:50:38 elapsed)</p> <p>Left from Parkside playground after kids playtime.&nbsp; Working out a good loop to use for repeat loop to run solo 100mi. at some point this summer.&nbsp; 20-25 mile loops probably best, utilizing a route that is inclusive of the water fountains. &nbsp;</p> <p>Took it out the people trail passed airport, Right on CR 500, Rt. on CR 250, Rt. on CR450 (Lots of Cars), Marr into Taylor (Lots of Cars), and crossing 25th, US31, and over to Clifty Cr. Park.&nbsp; That was a long way between water fountains.&nbsp; Rt. on State St. and back on PTrail through downtown, and back over to Mill Race.&nbsp; Up to Noblitt and over to Donner.&nbsp; Up Sycamore, Rt. on Tipton, Left up Westenedge, and back to Parksdie.&nbsp; Almost 20 miles.</p> Sun, 25 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Jun 24, 2017 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-24-2017.html <p>Ran from house downtown to Series 5k race - 8 miles WU prior to race.&nbsp; Humidity lower, but, still pretty high.&nbsp; Race was interesting - a couple younger kids went out quick and were coming back after the halfmile - 1mile.&nbsp; Knew the leader was a local highschool kid and was legit (about 1minute up)&nbsp; Passed the last 15 yr old about 0.25 from finish line, so he held on pretty well.</p> <p>Was working really hard for 6-6:05 pace, which is pretty discouraging.&nbsp; Going to keep at it, but, not expecting much in 5k/10k&#39;s in the near future.&nbsp; <strong>5k - 18:59</strong></p> <p>&quot;Cooled down&quot; with the high schooler who won.&nbsp; Pretty quick out and back on the people trail.&nbsp;</p> <p>Jogged home down SR 11 slowly.&nbsp;</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Sat, 24 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 23, 2017 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-23-2017.html <p>AM: TM 1 mi. in hotass gym.&nbsp; Took it outside and ran a bit in the rain.&nbsp; Felt great.&nbsp; Foam roll afterward.&nbsp; walk at work abbreviated due to more rain.</p> Fri, 23 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Jun 22, 2017 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-22-2017.html <p>walks at work.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 22 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Jun 21, 2017 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-21-2017.html <p>walk at work and lunch run - easy 5 miles outside - a little cooler weather.</p> Wed, 21 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Jun 20, 2017 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-20-2017.html <p>walk at work and lunch workout: <strong>3x1mi.TH, 3x0.25mi.LT, 5xPickups Max.</strong>&nbsp; I am slow these days.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 20 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Jun 19, 2017 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-19-2017.html <p>walk at work.&nbsp; went to the well on Saturday.&nbsp; Needed the day off</p> Mon, 19 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Sun, Jun 18, 2017 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-18-2017.html <p>Easy shakeout - 2miles walk jog on some soreness.</p> Sun, 18 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Jun 17, 2017 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-17-2017.html <p>AM long run - People Trails/Columbus Loop.&nbsp;</p> <p>SR 46 PTr, Mill Race, Donner, Airport (Turn on CR 500N), Marr, Turn in to Clairmont neighborhood, and back on to PTr.&nbsp; Went under the 25th St. Bridge, where the new section of path is being constructed, and stopped in Lincoln Park rec center to hopefully fill water bottles.&nbsp;</p> <p>Boil Water advisory in effect for the whole city for ecoli found in the water, but, the people at concession stand generously gave me a bottled water.&nbsp;</p> <p>Still wasn&#39;t enough.&nbsp; Ran out with 4 miles left.&nbsp; Weather in IN a balmy 90 degrees and humid.&nbsp; Consequently found myself really struggling and had to completely stop twice - bonk hardcore. &nbsp;</p> <p>Made it 30 miles with the last 3-4 mi. walking.&nbsp; 4:58:12</p> Sat, 17 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 16, 2017 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-16-2017.html <p>AM workout at gym: 30 minutes of: elliptical WU w/ lunge, squat, plank circuit.&nbsp; walk/jog on TM CD - 1mi.</p> <p>walk at work and an easy jog at lunch - 3.8 miles</p> Fri, 16 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Jun 15, 2017 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-15-2017.html <p>Workout day in the hot/humid weather outdoors.&nbsp; Made it hurt again - <strong>4 mi.AT, 1mi. TH, 5x0.1mi. stride</strong>.&nbsp; Struggling with any kind of quicker pace right now.&nbsp; combination of lack of recent training base, and heat are the only things I can think of.&nbsp; Wondering what slowness I will put on the results column of some 5ks and 10ks right now.&nbsp; Still on the fence about continuing to pursue the 100 mile goal.&nbsp; 8mi. total - 58:03.</p> <p>Walked at work</p> Thu, 15 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Jun 14, 2017 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-14-2017.html <p>Took the day off - unavoidable with work commitments.&nbsp; walked 1 time at work</p> Wed, 14 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Jun 13, 2017 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-13-2017.html <p>Workout time.&nbsp; Made it hurt at lunch at work outdoors.&nbsp; Hot and humid.&nbsp; <strong>3x1mi. AT down to TH, 2x0.5mi. TH, 0.25 mi. LT</strong> - paces are pretty slow in the heat and non-fit legs/aerobic system.&nbsp; 8.1 total - 1 hr.&nbsp;</p> <p>walked at work, also</p> Tue, 13 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Jun 12, 2017 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-12-2017.html <p>Easy does it.&nbsp; Not recovering as quickly as I would have hoped from June 4.&nbsp; walking and jogging alittle bit at work</p> Mon, 12 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Sun, Jun 11, 2017 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-11-2017.html <p>LR attemptin the heat.&nbsp; 18 miles with a good amount of walking after throwing in 6x1mi. mod. effort.&nbsp; 18 mi. - 2:54:37.&nbsp; Out and back on people trail.&nbsp;</p> Sun, 11 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Jun 10, 2017 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-10-2017.html <p>Back to workouts and serious training.&nbsp; Some lingering fatigue still from KM 100 DNF Saturday, 6/3, but, not enough to throw any warning flags to not start back up.&nbsp;</p> <p>AM - tried to meet up with CRC downtown Columbus, but must&#39;ve missed them somehow.&nbsp; Couldn&#39;t find their info online anymore.&nbsp; 7.4 miles with some moderate efforts thrown in - about an hour.</p> <p>PM - testing the systems in the heat.&nbsp; 10.4 miles and feeling drained after an hour of easy pace.&nbsp; averaged about 9:30 pace.&nbsp; 1:41</p> Sat, 10 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 09, 2017 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-09-2017.html <p>3 miles easy at lunch outside.&nbsp; walks at work.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 09 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Jun 08, 2017 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-08-2017.html <p>BAck to running.&nbsp; 5 miles at lunch in the sunshine - pretty tight in the hamstrings.&nbsp; walks at work also.</p> Thu, 08 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Jun 07, 2017 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-07-2017.html <p>walking well and ready to run again.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 07 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Jun 06, 2017 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-06-2017.html <p>walking better now</p> Tue, 06 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Jun 05, 2017 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-05-2017.html <p>Walking... barely</p> Mon, 05 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Sun, Jun 04, 2017 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-04-2017.html <p>Off - can barely walk</p> Sun, 04 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Jun 03, 2017 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-03-2017.html <p>The family came along for the trip to Whitewater Wisconisin for the Kettle Moraine Ultra and my 3rd attempt at 100 mile distance.&nbsp; Attempt number 1 resulted in a DQ/DNF when I turned early on an out and back section and went off course at mile 60.&nbsp; Attempt #2 was a DNS of Rocky Racoon 100 due to illness the week of the race, and not even making the trip to TX.</p> <p>This attempt started with a rather taxing trip up I-65 from Indiana through (around) Chicago on Friday afternoon prior to the race on Saturday.&nbsp; It took about 7 hours with all the stops and traffic, but, we made to the hotel by about 2pm Central.&nbsp;</p> <p>Checked in to hotel got settled and then headed over to packet pickup.&nbsp; Solid race with great organization, directions, and friendly attentive volunteers.&nbsp; We njoyed the local eatery, and some relaxed pool time back at hotel and laid down around 9pm.&nbsp; Kids took a little longer to settle down... ;(</p> <p>Race start at 6 am was alot easier than anticipated with the kids not used to waking up that early.&nbsp; We made it over while the sun came up and I dropped my gear and said my goodbyes as the wife and kids went to start their day elsewhere.&nbsp; The gun went off and I found myself what seemed to be near the lead 100mile group.&nbsp; 100k started at same time, so, hard to tell really.&nbsp; We settled in to some leap frogging at a relaxed pace in some cooler temperatures throughout the morning.&nbsp; Chating with the guys as they came and went, I felt like I had settled in to a realistic 9-9:30 pace on sections with little climbing or technical features.&nbsp; As the morning wore on and we emerged in to an exposed more open section of the trail, we watched as a storm began to build and mount somewhere off to the West.&nbsp; It rolled in quickly and brought some good rainfall over a period of about 2 hours.&nbsp;</p> <p>The first section being an out-and back 63 miles (100k ?), meant that we would have about 500 people following us over the same terrain and beating up the once dirt/grass trail for the re journey.&nbsp; As we turned around at about 30 miles / (GPSed) 5hours, the rain died down and we quickly discovered the muddy slop that had the trail had become.&nbsp; 15 miles of the next 20 were unrunnable sloppy mud hole.&nbsp; By the time I had come back to the open exposed area (~ 8 miles worth), my legs were not responding, and the sun had come out.&nbsp; Now, I was staring down sloppy mud with the sun glaring down, humidity and heat up in the upper 80&#39;s - Yeah&nbsp; Not good.&nbsp; I walked most the last 8 miles in to a manned aid station and called it quits at the 54.X mile point.&nbsp; Got to bed at reasonable time at least, and made the drive home the following morning.&nbsp;</p> <p>10 miles - 1:30</p> <p>20 miles - 3:03 (1:32)</p> <p>30 miles - 5:03 (2hrs)</p> <p>40 miles - 7:14 (2:11)</p> <p>50 miles - 9:40 (2:36) -- and... done when I limped in to 54.25 mile &quot;Bluff Aid Station&quot;.&nbsp;</p> <p>Definitely on the negative side of the fence about ever trying another organized 100 mile attempt at this point.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 03 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 02, 2017 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-02-2017.html <p>walking around packet pickup and start / finish line area with kids</p> Fri, 02 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Jun 01, 2017 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-01-2017.html <p>easy jog at lunch - grass loops around church.</p> <p>walk at work.</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> <p>Drive to Wisc. tomorrow for Kettle Morainne 100 mile.</p> Thu, 01 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Wed, May 31, 2017 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-31-2017.html <p>walks at work and jog at lunch.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 31 May 2017 06:00:00 Tue, May 30, 2017 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-30-2017.html <p>Walks at work and jogging in the grass around the church at lunch</p> Tue, 30 May 2017 06:00:00 Mon, May 29, 2017 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-29-2017.html <p>Trail run with the big Quaff group in BCSP.&nbsp; 6.7 miles in about an hour.&nbsp; Great day and weather</p> Mon, 29 May 2017 06:00:00 Sun, May 28, 2017 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-28-2017.html <p>AM - easy run around the fairgrounds and nieghborhood</p> Sun, 28 May 2017 06:00:00 Sat, May 27, 2017 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-27-2017.html <p>AM - easy pace - last effort over 1 hour prior to KM 100.&nbsp; 10 miles - 1:30:33.&nbsp; Nice temperature, but, the humidity is little scary.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 27 May 2017 06:00:00 Fri, May 26, 2017 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-26-2017.html <p>AM - TM walk jog at gym about 3mi.</p> <p>walk at work,</p> <p>5 miles lunch run around burkhart loop - easy pace</p> Fri, 26 May 2017 06:00:00 Thu, May 25, 2017 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-25-2017.html <p>walk at work and easy run in evening around the neighborhood</p> Thu, 25 May 2017 06:00:00