Random Inspirational Quote Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/ Mon, 22 Jul 2019 08:23:24 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Sun, Jul 21, 2019 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-21-2019.html <p>LR part 2 of double.&nbsp; Hot and struggling.&nbsp; 18.3 miles around GV.&nbsp; 2:52.&nbsp; Carried the 2 bottles of hydration pack, 2 Clif bars, and a handheld.&nbsp; Drained all 3 water bottles, but, could only half of one Clif bar.</p> Sun, 21 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Jul 20, 2019 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-20-2019.html <p>Long Run with attempted workout fail.&nbsp; Out and back on Ppl trail.&nbsp; Lots of people out on bikes and running in the morning heat.&nbsp; Managed 3 miles at AT.&nbsp; 18.2 miles total - 2:34:11&nbsp;</p> Sat, 20 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Jul 19, 2019 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-19-2019.html <p>am - slow with a Domino&#39;s gut.&nbsp; 30 minutes for 3 miles</p> <p>lunch run in he heat.&nbsp; 6 mile loop around CR 340 and US50 - 53 minutes</p> Fri, 19 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Jul 18, 2019 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-18-2019.html <p>AM easy run around neighborhood.&nbsp; 4 miles - 36 min.</p> <p>Lunch around 7.1 mile loop - 1 hour.&nbsp; The &quot;Excessive Heat&quot; is here!&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> <p>walks at work.&nbsp; &nbsp;</p> Thu, 18 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Jul 17, 2019 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-17-2019.html <p>Lunch run - got caught in the rain.&nbsp; 6 miles around CR loop and down US50 - 50:53</p> <p>walks at work.</p> <p>Couldn&#39;t talk myself in to an evening run as planned.&nbsp; Hot and tired</p> Wed, 17 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Jul 16, 2019 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-16-2019.html <p>AM Track workout:&nbsp;<strong>12x400m @ goal 5k pace</strong>:&nbsp; 85, 83, 83, 83, 83, 82, 82,&nbsp; 82, 84, 83, 79, 72</p> <p>Getting better.&nbsp; Its hot!&nbsp; 6.3 mi total - 46:43</p> <p>Lunch run - easy 5 mile loop - 45:33</p> <p>walk at work</p> Tue, 16 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Jul 15, 2019 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-15-2019.html <p>easy 5 at lunch and a walk at work</p> Mon, 15 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Sun, Jul 14, 2019 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-14-2019.html <p>Part 2 of double Long Run weekend: 20.7 miles Grandview out and back.&nbsp; A little over 3 hours.&nbsp; Started at 8 am, and it boy did it heat up quickly.&nbsp; Took it slow and easy until the end.&nbsp; Wore the hydration pack with 2x600ml + 1 Tailwind pack split between them.&nbsp; Needed both of them for sure.&nbsp; Good news is that the hydration pack did not hurt me this time.&nbsp; The trick is to wear an undershirt.&nbsp; Getting ahng of the heat runs aslo:&nbsp; White hat, White top (not shirtless), sunscreen, and most importantly, enough water and calories.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Sun, 14 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Jul 13, 2019 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-13-2019.html <p>AM Long Run:&nbsp;<strong>5, 4, 2 miles at MP:</strong>&nbsp;IT got too hard to compelte the planned 54321.&nbsp; I was working really hard and nt feeling to great aerobiaclly on the last miles of each 5 and 4. 2miles was cutting short the 3mile rep, after really getting deep in to the well to maintain 6:45 pace.&nbsp; Guess I&#39;m not as far along as I thought.&nbsp; 23.3 miles total - 3:02:50.&nbsp; Soakedin the warm bath, and took a nap.</p> <p>That helped to recover.&nbsp; The family went for a hike in borwn county after my nap.&nbsp; Trail A (horse trail).&nbsp; About 0.75 miles into the 2 mile loop (down and back up), we had a close encounter with a pissed off timber rattler.&nbsp; Crazy!&nbsp; With probably thousands of trail miles logged, this was the closest I have ever come to a rattle snake encounter/bite.&nbsp; Fortunatley, it rattled very loudly, and was about 15-20 feet away.&nbsp; I did catch a glimpse of it enough to see how big it was.&nbsp; about 5-6 feet, and a pretty impresive girth.&nbsp; We high-tailed it back the opposite direction.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Sat, 13 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Jul 12, 2019 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-12-2019.html <p>moderate lunch run: 7mi. - 58:10.&nbsp; New Blue hOka Clifton 4&#39;s are cushy.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> <p>walked at work.&nbsp; Hot!&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Fri, 12 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Jul 11, 2019 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-11-2019.html <p>walked at work</p> Thu, 11 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Jul 10, 2019 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-10-2019.html <p>easy 40 minutes before the interview this morning.&nbsp; 4.3 miles on the Pensy trail in Greenfield</p> <p>Interviewed for the Greenfield CPMD position.&nbsp; I don&#39;t think it went very well.&nbsp; I just get silly and say stupid things when I get nervous. drive back to SY for the rest of the work day.&nbsp;</p> <p>Went tot the County fair with kids and Tiff.&nbsp; Very hot!&nbsp; and I ate 2 Pineapple whips&nbsp;</p> <p>late night run - easy and very slow, but&nbsp;somewhat sick&nbsp;from fair food.&nbsp; 3.1 miles - 30 min.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> <p>New Hoka Cliftons are nice and coushy.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 10 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Jul 09, 2019 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-09-2019.html <p>AM track workout:</p> <p>Trinity track before work.&nbsp;&nbsp;<strong>8x800m</strong>&nbsp;at 10k (2:50-2:55 range for all)&nbsp; 7 total - 56 min.</p> <p>5.8 miles at lunch - 51:14.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> <p>walk at work</p> Tue, 09 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Jul 08, 2019 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-08-2019.html <p>moderate lunch run - 7 miles - 51:50.&nbsp; Hot!!</p> <p>walk at work</p> Mon, 08 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Sun, Jul 07, 2019 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-07-2019.html <p>easy in the am: 36:57 - 3.5mi.</p> Sun, 07 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Jul 06, 2019 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-06-2019.html <p>AM - Long Run.&nbsp; Did not sleep well last night - our smoke detectors decided to go off after the fireworks in the neighborhood.&nbsp; Pretty scary, but, they stopped going off, and we didn&#39;t see anything actually smoking or on the roof.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> <p>decent weather - overcast and not as hot.&nbsp; out and back on the ppl trail.&nbsp; went about 2.5 hours and ran out of the sports drink and water before it got rough.&nbsp; restarted the watch after a stupid red jeep full of high school girls rolled through a stop sign and almost ran me over in a crosswalk.&nbsp; They received my full wrath...&nbsp;</p> <p>5.1 more miles with some walking - 52:58.&nbsp; 22.6 miles total.&nbsp; Remembering what its like to suffer a bit.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 06 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Jul 05, 2019 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-05-2019.html <p>AM - slow 5 miles - very tired.&nbsp; 47 min.</p> <p>PM - run home in midday heat from across town.&nbsp; 9.85 miles with a little more energy - 88:30</p> Fri, 05 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Jul 04, 2019 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-04-2019.html <p>AM:&nbsp; Series 5k in Franklin, IN.&nbsp; Can tell I am tired and not ready for a good race in the WU.&nbsp; Pretty hot and humid, but, also the double LR and Tuesday 20x400 in my legs.&nbsp; Nothing there after about 1 mile :)</p> <p>5:45, 6:07, 6:25!&nbsp; Hehe - Oh well - Served as a&nbsp;great workout, and got to spend some time with some good dudessin the CD.&nbsp; A couple miles in the CD and ran the course in WU</p> <p>PM:&nbsp; Jogged home really slow from across town with a full belly of Papa Johns... 9.5 in about 92 min.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 04 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Jul 03, 2019 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-03-2019.html <p>easy runs in am and lunch - hot! also walks at work</p> Wed, 03 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Jul 02, 2019 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-02-2019.html <p>am track workout - <strong>20x400m</strong>&nbsp;target 5k pace w/ 200m recovery jog.&nbsp; kept it around 83 seconds</p> <p>9.2 mi. total - 67min. Overall, a good workout.&nbsp; Eatin alive by some sort of bags that attacked me at the track</p> <p>walks at work</p> Tue, 02 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Jul 01, 2019 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-01-2019.html <p>easy 4.5 mi. - recovery day. 39:37.&nbsp; feeling decent after wknd</p> Mon, 01 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Sun, Jun 30, 2019 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-30-2019.html <p>Part 2 of double LR weekend: 23.6 mi out and back on ppl trail.&nbsp; hot! and some walking at the end.&nbsp; 3:46:30</p> Sun, 30 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Jun 29, 2019 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-29-2019.html <p>Induced Bonking this morning.&nbsp; Ran over to kids BBall game at FFY, about 7 miles.&nbsp; watched taht for about 1.5hrs. and then ran from there around town and back to house down Sr 11 - about 2:30 more hours of running in the quickly heating up day.&nbsp; Only water on the run for the bonking effect.&nbsp; not too bad, and I went slow enoiugh to not really hit hard.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> <p>Signed up for Tunnel Hill 100 mile.&nbsp; Here we go.&nbsp; I won&#39;t be denied this year.</p> <p>Build up for running a great marathon at Mill Race at the end of Sept. with some Ultra type training sprinkled in, and then keep building up through October, and bingo - succesful 100mile in November.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 29 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 28, 2019 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-28-2019.html <p>walked at work, and took the day&nbsp;off.</p> Fri, 28 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Jun 27, 2019 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-27-2019.html <p>4 mile cutdown in the heat at lunch.&nbsp; 6:25-30 pace about all I could do today.&nbsp; 7 total - 52 min.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 27 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Jun 26, 2019 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-26-2019.html <p>easy lunch run at muskatuck.&nbsp; hot and sunny.&nbsp; 4.7 miles in 45 minutes</p> <p>walks at work</p> Wed, 26 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Jun 25, 2019 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-25-2019.html <p>AM track workout:&nbsp;&nbsp;<strong>8x400m</strong>&nbsp;w/ 200m jog recovery.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> <p>81, 77, 78, 77, 81, 80, 82, 72</p> <p>easy jogging WU w/ strides nad CD.&nbsp; Dodging camp kids running on the track</p> Tue, 25 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Jun 24, 2019 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-24-2019.html <p>easy 5 mile run at lumch.&nbsp; raining</p> <p>walks at work</p> Mon, 24 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Sun, Jun 23, 2019 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-23-2019.html <p>AM Long Run: Ppl Trail out and back.&nbsp;&nbsp;Last 10 miles -&nbsp;<strong>3:00 MP/2:00 jog&nbsp;</strong>probably about 7 miles totoal at MP and harder near the end.&nbsp; Good stuff after starting off in a rotten state of mind.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> <p>20 miles total - 2:43:15</p> Sun, 23 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Jun 22, 2019 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-22-2019.html <p>Series<strong> 5k Race</strong> donwtown:&nbsp; Got a bit excited to be racing with alittle training under my belt.</p> <p>5:37, 5:53, 5:59, 15s (short course?)&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> <p>Probably could&#39;ve done better with some control in mile 1.&nbsp; Dude that won stopped to tie his shoe about half mile in... :)&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> <p>jogged slow 6 miles afterward in the rain.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Sat, 22 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 21, 2019 http://joebell1981.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-21-2019.html <p>Easy 7 miles at work at lunch - 60 minutes</p> <p>walks at work.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> <p>It stopped raining and its sunny today.&nbsp; More coming this weekend</p> Fri, 21 Jun 2019 06:00:00